4.9
56 Reviews
5
95% (53)
4
5% (3)
3
0% (0)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
100% Recommend this product (56 of 56 responses)
By Luke
Mahtomedi , MN
The only carnauba wax I will still use as a professional detailer
April 2, 2022
Why will I reach for this even as a professional when many just use spray waxes now? -easy on and easy off -candy gloss/warm glow that makes blues and reds look incredible -cheaper and still providing a pretty bullet proof 3-4 months durability -doesn’t stain plastic trims or seals (unless u just leave it on and don’t wipe up) still use common sense tho this is designed for paint work Like I highlighted this is probably the only carnuba based product I’ll ever buy. I don’t find this attracts dust…but some people I know who use it also highlight that it will attract dust (not as bad as many other products though)
ProsGloss / enrichment of colors The Durability for a carnauba wax is really impressive Easy application
By Lee Y.
New Castle, DE
I'm satisfied.
June 1, 2021
It's cheap and has good performance.
By Michael
Florida
Go-To Wax
January 27, 2021
Now my go-to wax. Super easy to apply and buff off with incredible results. Also very economical as I only had to use a ~tablespoon to wax my entire car.
By Sam
Chicago Illinois
Doesn't matter what you've used before, this ends it.
December 9, 2020
My weather environment is specially made to destroy a vehicles undercarriage and paint in months not years. Long story short extreme heat and humidity pounding sun half the year pretty much then subzero Midwest cold ALONG with pot-holed road salt spewing paint destroying roads and highways rest of the road time. I purchased the vehicle just 7th 1998 a Cherokee XJ right after high school with 3 2 miles on odometer today 22 years later with 503,222 original miles on her and the REAL proof is using this product this insulator wax by Collinite WITHOUT fail every October for 22 awesome years. I was told by my high school girlfriends father who owned and still owns a body/paint shop hear in Chicago Illinois "Its the only sh** that works now get outta my office" I hope to include picts. Thick white layers of frozen salty crap, dirt, mud never once got through to clear coat I frankly put in on over countless paint chipped areas and even applied countless years in my cold garage when metal was cold, of course the bottle was room temperature but I'm saying FOR me it didn't adversely affect shine or protection. Now seriously I use COUNTLESS products on my other cars and wife's Acura, mainly Griots Garage and Sonnax but there's nothing from ANY company even comparable or in same solar system. Synthetic polymer this, sealant that blah blah.. drive 70+mph for 22 years in back of salt trucks throwing rock salt in sub zero weather while gathering toxic paint eating road grime this product should be in top 100 inventions all time because it's supernatural in capability and goes on comes off without even breathing hard AND shines like a mirror. My understanding was it was never invented or intended to be a car wax, rather a power lines product to protect metals from harsh wind weather that could potentially cripple power grid or something. Lastly I do know that the Bently dealership in Hinsdale Illinois uses it on their vehicles which range from Bently of course to Porsche, Land Rover and Tesla 100 plus thousand dollar cars that have to be test driven in Midwest conditions without damaging their original finishes. There's nothing that is in same range, category or atmosphere as this whereas other products in care car you can compare pros cons price this that. It's like comparing a house to a toothbrush...... yea.. seriously there's nothing to compare it to or in its category and it's awesome but NOT SHOCKING at all being in the advertising business myself that very few know About Collinite! My grandpa used to say that you only advertise to sell your product, this sells itself.
ProsEasily Applied Easily Removed GLASS like shine AND PROTECTION that is unheard of and unmatched zero arguments.
ConsNone, Zero EXCEPT maybe thinking of the past products you've used literally lighting your dollars on fire.
By PAUL
BELLINGHAM, WA
Collinite Liquid Insulator Wax No. 845
September 14, 2020
Collinite Liquid Insulator Wax No. 845 was recommended to me by several detailing professionals. I decided to give it a try. I am completely convinced that this product is great. Gives a deep shine and water seems to jump off the surface.
ProsEasy to apply, it's like butter. A VERY little goes a long way. Once dried to a haze is vary easily removed.
ConsYou need to heat the bottle so it liquifies, not a major issue but one to be aware. I wish the bottle came with a pour tilt-up spout as proving in straight from the bottle causes waste.
By Omar
OXNARD, CA
Stunning result paired with Jensen power lock
September 5, 2020
Gives the car a pop and shine and depth.
ProsEasy to apply Great results
ConsNone
By Alexander
Long Beach, CA
My car has never looked so good
June 20, 2020
As beginner who was never done a paint correction or waxed his car, this is my first time using a product like this. I used it in conjunction with a dual action polisher on a 6-in pad. The end result was absolutely fantastic, and I had no issues using it even as a beginner.
ProsGreat product, no odor, fantastic end result.
ConsIt's kind of hard to get the product out. There's no squeeze lid, Just a cap so you have to squeeze the bottle to get it out. If they had an easier way to get it out, it would be a five-star product.
By Anthony
Bellerose,NY, NY
Collinite insultor
February 11, 2020
After many 5 star reviews I bought it but Unable to use it due to weather
By Delphine
GARDENA, CA
So easy to use !!!
November 19, 2019
The 845 is my only wax: I don't have a garage, and that doesn't leave many options.. Although it's always advised to let the wax cure, the manufacturer really reassured me: in case a little rain falls, it won't hurt as soon as the wax has been buffed off. This product is SO easy to apply, and to buff off, anyone can use it. My car is white, which does not make it the best example to judge its gloss.. I top it with Beadmaker, they are a perfect match.
ProsAbsolute ease of use.
ConsIn a tropical climate, I have to re apply it 3 to times a year
By Bob
Long Island
Extreme shine
March 8, 2019
Collinite 845 really shines! A little goes a long way. Used this product after compound and polish and it really brought up the shine. Water just beads right off the surface. Highly recommend Collinite 845!
ProsA little goes a long way Extreme shine
By John
LAKEWOOD RANCH, FL
What's not to like?
March 5, 2019
Collinite 845 lasts a very long time on a properly prepped surface, and because it only takes a very little amount to apply, the bottle will also last a very long time. Best bang for your buck, for sure! And I love the feel of my paint with a fresh coat of Collinite. It is also very easy to buff off as long as you don't over apply.
By Joseph
Ponte Vedra, FL
Long Lasting Stuff
January 26, 2019
Been using this stuff for years. Great long lasting stuff.
By Heather
AR
Insulator wax
January 9, 2019
Good stuff used as a top coat. Keep a pan of hot water in the sink. To get it in a better liquid state. Fun and interesting to work with. It's an excellent wax to team up with a sealant.
By David
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Bye Bye paste Wax!
December 18, 2018
The Collinite has been blazing up the youtube channel this year. I was in need of a new wax since my Adams Polishes paste wax had served its time. This wax lays down very easy and comes off with a good microfiber towel. So far it's beading abilities is fantastic after one month on the GMC Sierra. I putdown some of the Mequiers Ultimate Fast Finish prior to the wax.
Pros1. Price 2. A little bit goes a long way 3. Beading is legit. 4. Pray for the longevity this winter.
Consnone so far will update if I run into any this year.
By Tom
Suburban NYC area
Nice RV Paint Wax
December 14, 2018
I like the wax on my RV's painted surfaces, as it goes on easy, sgines quickly, wipes off easily, and lasts months.
ProsEasy to use
ConsHard to find except at Autopia.
By TJ
Cleveland, OH
First Time User
October 9, 2018
Seems to be holding up rather well. It was very simple to use. Just make sure you run the bottle under some warm water to loosen the product up a bit.
By RWW
Southeastern USA
Love Collinite
August 10, 2018
Iâ‚"m not a show-car guy but I am interested in keeping my vehicles looking great. Believe it or not, Iâ‚"ve been using Collinite wax for almost 50 years. Tried many other highly hyped products during that time but in terms of real-world durability there just isnâ‚"t anything better, IME. In order of durability; 476, Marquis & 845 all great waxes. They all hold up under the harshest weather conditions. 845 is the easiest to apply of the three and gives a beautiful deep shine. It doesnâ‚"t last quite as long as the two paste waxes. For cars that have to fend for themselves, ungaraged, this is the wax.
Pros1) Durability 2) Shine 3) Very cost effective...a little goes a long way
ConsEase of application, although 845 is about as easy as it gets for a liquid wax/sealant.
By Kazper
Baltimore, MD
Easy to apply, amazing shine
August 9, 2018
I waxed my car with two layers of collinite 845 with my Groit's polisher and everything turned out great. I warmed it up before hand and applied it super light. Next time I may apply a little bit more to see if it makes a differences. If it holds up for 4 months, I'll be happy.
ProsUse little product Nice shine Long lasting
ConsAlmost solid out of the bottle. Difficult to use with bottle- I transferred it to a sample size shampoo bottle from the dollar store that works much better.
By Txgirlcop
TEXAS
Great shine
July 15, 2018
Ive used this on old paint on a classic as well as new car paint. It brings out the shine on both.
By Tom
S W FL
Shines good
July 13, 2018
Makes my car and RV shine like new, and the RV is 12 years old and has over 159,000 miles on it.
ProsEasy to use
ConsMore expensive than other waxes
By Rob
GLENSHAW, PA
The classic
July 6, 2018
I can’t say much else that others haven’t stayed. This is a classic that is just as relevant today as ever. When in doubt, apply 845.
ProsDurability, gloss, ease of use, appearance, especially on light colors.
By DAS
North Tustin, Ca
You will love this hybrid wax
December 26, 2017
The previous reviews are spot on. The gloss, shine, and durability of this product are hard to beat.
ProsOne of the best hybrid waxes on the market.
By Jason
Thorofare, NJ
What more can be said it's a legend
May 18, 2017
Perfect and a bottle will last a long time
ProsA little goes a long way. Considering what it can do, longevity, how it looks on paint. Some other waxes should be ashamed asking top $ for falling short of 845. 845 is a steal at this price.
ConsLearning curve. Warm up.
By George
Longboat Key Club Moorings, FL
Works on Gelcoat
January 27, 2017
I use the 845 Insulator Wax on my boat. Result is a slick surface and very glossy. Usually there is a trade off between durability and ease of use. The 845 is a great balance - very easy to apply and buff out, and lasts a long time. A note: make sure the wax is warm before applying. Warm it up in the sun ( and I have microwaved it as well) and shake, shake , shake. Look for a buttermilk like consistency and no clumps. And like all the other posters recommend put on a thin coat. I use a memory foam pad.
ProsGreat durability and easy to apply and buff out
ConsThe bottle. Needs a small dispensing tip. A little bit of this stuff goes a long, long way. It is very difficult to pour out a small amount on your pad as it is a thin liquid when warm and well shaken. I pour it into an empty detergent bottle so I can dispense a pea sized dollop on the pad.
By Paul
Watertown, Wi
yes, yes, and yes
November 30, 2016
So I had a chance to try some of this and i will so be buying some as soon as my other wax supply either deminishes or i just gonna get some. Probably more the later
Prosnice shine nice water repellentcy(I know not a real word) nice water beads
By Richard
Jackson new jersey
There's nothing better.
October 12, 2016
I have a silver corvette after waxing it with insulator wax 845 I will never use anything else. The paint shines like it's wet all summer long no bug splits stuck the bugs just washed off with no effort . When it rains the rain just beads up on the car like they advertise on wax cans . It's dorable it last . I think it's very easy to use i put on a thin coat and It wipes right off . I highly recommend this product it's magnificent.
ProsIt's easy to use , it's dorable ,nothing sticks to it ,
ConsN/A
By Brian D.
Norwood Ma.
10 STARS
August 29, 2016
I purchased this wax about a month ago, used it immediately. this wax goes on easy and buffs up real nice to a silky smooth finish. I added the second coat about a week later prior to my trip to the dirt roads in the back woods of Maine. when i got home i hosed of the mud/dirt and the truck looked pretty darn good, and after a washing and wipe down it looked awesome. I've also used it on my boat. After a couple of my buddies saw my truck they had to have this wax ( 2 have already purchased and used it) I have recommended this to a few of my fiends and co-workers. I will send a pic of my truck at a later date, 2011 Tundra
Proseasy on easy off
Consthe bottle the cap please improve
By Lex
Fairfax, VA
Best Wax, Ever!
August 21, 2016
I was introduced to this wax when I was a Virginia State Trooper by another Trooper who used 845 on his cruiser. That was 20 years ago, and I've been using it on all my cars, trucks, and motorcycles. Great on paint and chrome. I have an 18 year-old Toyota truck that I've always waxed with 845 and the paint and chrome looks new.
ProsSuper durable - even though I wax my vehicles once a month : )
ConsZERO Cons!
By Yulius
Edmonds, WA
Tough wax
June 18, 2016
Tough wax with nice shine.
ProsDurable Affordable
ConsNone
By Ashish
Milton, GA
Best Product - Almost a Wax/Sealant Mixture
February 23, 2016
I enjoy sing this product on my cars. I've used it on my dark grey Lexus to bright silver BMW. No matter what color of the spectrum the car is, the shine is amazing! Lately on forums, people mention "What's a good wax for black/dark color cars?" I find it funny, but I recommend this product! The water beading is amazing as well. Driving through the rain in my car with this layered is entertaining to a point because all the water just beads up and flies right off! Like many people have said, a little bit runs a long way with his product. This bottle will last for a while!
ProsSlick like paint Amazing properties Great shine
ConsNeed to Find a better way to dispense it
By Maria
San Jose, CA
Slick finish
February 19, 2016
I tried this on my older truck, I will never use anything else. Allow it to bake it and removal is super easy
By Mary B.
Burnsville, MN
Kickin' Collinite wax
February 17, 2016
Used this on a dark grey truck, as a 2nd coat on top of another wax that had trouble with the darker color. I was not expecting much from this industrial looking bottle of wax. First I removed the cap, squeezed small clumps on a pad and proceeded to change this boring finish into something dramatically spectacular ! The Collinite gave the dark truck a deep iridescent color matched only by it's radiance. Shocking in a good way. Plus Collinite lasted thru 2 snow storms.
ProsPrice, easy to use, a cream wax.
By GP
Glassboro, NJ
Classic
December 14, 2015
My go to LSP
By david
nederland, Texas
Legendary wax!
December 3, 2015
warm up the bottle to thin product out before using. very very thin layer is all that is needed.
Proslong lasting, shines great, a little goes a long way
By Logan
Cedarville, OH
As Good As Advertised
December 3, 2015
I have used this product many times on different cars for about a year. Collinite is very easy to apply by hand or machine. I have applied the product both ways and it is simply a matter of preference on the best method.
ProsDurable Easy to Apply A little Goes A Long Way
ConsThe Bottle Isnt the best - Get a flip cap or another bottle to store and apply with
By Anthony
MIddletown, OH
Great long-lasting wax!
November 7, 2015
I have been using this for about 7 years for a winter wax and it has never let me down.
Pros+Goes on easy +Last 5-6 months
Cons+smell like RAID
By Chas
Ga.
Collinite Wax
September 30, 2015
Great item
ProsCovers well
ConsNone
By Christopher
Ellenboro, NC
Easy wax
July 1, 2015
This wax goes on super easy and if you remove within 5 minutes it's very easy to remove. Slick finish that lasts 4-8 months from what I've experienced
By Justin
North Canton, OH
Wax and sealant
June 29, 2015
I think this product is more sealant than wax. It offers protection for up to 6 months. The beading is great. Be sure to apply a very thin coat, it makes it much easier to buff off.
ProsGreat protection Long lasting
By Dustin
Ofallon, MO
Long lasting wax at a decent price
February 6, 2015
If you're looking for a wax that offers added protection without the cost of a sealant, look no further. Everyone raves about this stuff, and for good reason!
ProsEasy to apply, the product lasts 6-8 washes, cheap
By Lewbeachbob
Catskills, NY
Colinite 845
December 3, 2014
I first became aware of Collinite Insulator Wax when I was given a box of odds and ends from a garage that was going out of business. An old half full bottle of this wax was in the box. I first used it to coat the bed of a new pickup truck before putting the bed liner in it. I was amazed how much shine and depth it gave the paint. I ended waxing the entire truck and still had a quarter of the bottle left when I was finished. The truck looked great and beaded water all winter long. The only drawback to this product is it's difficulty in purchasing. It is manufactured in my state (NY), but is difficult to find. Even here at the Autopia website it doesn't pop up as an item for sale unless you search for Collinite products. Don't be put off by the "Industrial" sounding name of this wax. I haven't hesitated on using it on my "garage queen" black Chrysler Crossfire. The results of using this wax on it are amazing! The wax is semi liquid, easy to apply by hand and a breeze to use with a DA machine. The DA application puts on a very thin coat, allowing an easy buff off. Next time you are looking to try a different product, add this to your order. You will be pleasantly surprised.
ProsEasy application Depth of shine Economical Durability
ConsHard to find
By Matt
San Bernardino, CA
Best bang for your buck
December 1, 2014
Awesome all around wax. Durability is great on paint but it even works well on wheels too with the higher heat. When applied thin the removal can be easily buffed out. Smell is strong chemical (not a big deal but figured I would point it out) and the wax itself is thin and a bit greasy.
ProsDurability Ease of Application and Removal Price
By Wendell J.
Richmond Ky
Hidden Gem of a wax
September 8, 2014
This is one great wax, either if your a detailing business owner or a week end warrior, you need this, incredible shine and awesome durability makes this a winner of a wax, had great gloss and depth and months and months of protection,,,,looks just as good as some of the high dollar waxes on the market.....A must try product
ProsGreat pricing, durability , the look of the wax and protection cant be beat....a must have
Consnone
By Alex
DEERFIELD BEACH, FL
Beginner friendly with pro results
July 31, 2014
This is my go-to wax for its durability, ease of application (and removal), and looks. It gives depth to light and dark colors and a little goes a long way.
ProsEverything. The price, the durability, the water beading characteristics; ill use this wax forever
ConsA precision tip would be nice.
By Blake
Prattville, AL
Awesome on white vehicles!
May 26, 2014
I use this to top my sealant of choice on my white F-150! Looks great and last forever. Budget friendly, as well!
ProsDurability Shine
ConsEase of use
By Harold
Durham, NC
Most Durable Wax I've Used
May 16, 2014
I polished my White car and applied a coat of Collinite Insulator Wax. WOW! The car totally looked different and it was so shiny. I applied another coat of wax 48 hours later and it became even more striking. I am amazed at the durability of this wax. It seems to last throughout the winter and I reapplied a coat in March 2014 and it's still going strong. I was so pleased with Collinite wax that I purchased the Marque D'Elegance for my black car and I couldn't be more pleased.
ProsSmells good Easy to apply and remove Durability is second to none Great price
ConsHave to warm it up to make it liquid.
By Chad
Indiana
Review
October 1, 2013
I have used this new product and absolutely love it. Makes a big difference in the vehicles I used it on. Would highly recommend this product.
ProsEasy to use
By Ray H.
Rochester, NY
Insulator Wax No. 845
September 9, 2013
This item went on very easy and buffed up just great. I only used it by accident once, but now that's the only wax I 'll use on my car and the wife's car. So glad I found you.
ProsI love the everlasting shine.
By RMART
Philippines
Great product, great price
July 28, 2012
Relatively easy to use, must be applied real thin or else it can streak or smear. Durability is very good, an added bonus is the shine. Works better on bright colors such as silver, brings out the flake yet adds depth to paint. Water beading is awesome. Gives bright shine, without making paint look sterile. Also used it on BMW rims and makes brake dust removal effortless. Simple rinse with water and most of it is gone.
ProsSealant like durability, Carnauba like warmth Not too procey Not a lot needed to get good coverage Quite easy to use
ConsCan still streak That cap is poorly designed Not too easy to find Package design
By Will G.
Flemington NJ
The insane durability of 845
May 20, 2012
I recently started using 845 to add protection to my own cars as well as my customers cars. The best way for me to tell as to why you should get this wax is to tell a short story. I had a client who had 845 on their car and they had told me they had been washing their car with Dawn for about a month. I was expecting all the wax to be gone and no water beading what so ever. I was wrong. The Dawn didn't even touch the collinite, the water still beaded like the day I put it on the car. Buy it, you won't go back
ProsInsane durability Great shine and reflection Makes drying easier
ConsNone

Page 1 of 2
1


Top