4.9
53 Reviews
5
89% (47)
4
9% (5)
3
2% (1)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
96% Recommend this product (51 of 53 responses)
By Jonathan
Jacksonville FL
ONR = best
August 25, 2021
I have used ONR since it was introduced. It absolutely is the best wash I've used. The easiest wash. And the most cost effective wash. I follow the two bucket method with grit guards. Never had an issue. I also use this as a clay lubricant. Just buy it. You will never go back to regular washing. Note: This review is for the older formula. Excited to try the new and improved formula!
ProsExcellent wash results Rapidly decreased wash time Ease of use Clay lubricant Price
ConsStill need to rinse a medium to heavily soiled vehicle before using IMHO.
By Lee Y.
New Castle, DE
This product is all-round.
June 1, 2021
It's a product that's so price-performance that you don't need to talk about.
By Mike
TX
Best washing aid
December 17, 2020
Bought to assist in weekly washes. The product performs fantastic. My wash bucket water never looked so clean while washing the dirt just sinks to the bottom. Amazing...
By elizabeth
washington
So Versatile
November 3, 2020
Smells great, multiple uses, always have a diluted bottle in car for emergencies.
By Brian
St. Charles, IL
Great on the road
August 1, 2020
I bought ONR primarily for a trip I was taking. Using it on the road was great for an easy wash in a remote area on a coated truck. Paired with The Big Red Sponge, this cleaning system has no problem removing the road grime, pollen, finger prints and bugs from the trip. I was surprised it worked pretty well on glass too, little effort drying, and would leave a pretty streak free finish.
ProsUses 2 gal water to wash a crew cab pickup. Uses very little product. Easy to pack along on a trip. Leaves behind a nice shiny finish.
ConsIf you're extremely picky about your glass, follow with a dedicated glass cleaner.
By Brent
Glenpool, OK
Great rinseless wash
June 28, 2020
Have used this product for MANY years. Never had a problem. Makes washing vehicles economical. Saves a ton of time and effort. Does a good job of cleaning and leaves the paint slick.
ProsEconomical, slick, safe, eco friendly
ConsNone
By Alexander
Long Beach, CA
Perfect product for a beginner
June 20, 2020
I got this product as It was recommended by many people online. I used it as a wash, clay lube, and quick detail. It smells great, and did everything I hoped it would with no issues. I barely used any product, so this is going to last me a long time. I'm very excited
ProsExtremely versatile and smells great
ConsNone
By Cody
Moorhead, MN
Priced right, highly versatile
June 17, 2020
There is plenty to be said that has already been said. I use it for clay lube and winter washes and it lasts a long time, especially at the price point it is at. Highly versatile.
By Gary
ILION, NY
Great Product
March 16, 2020
I used this for the first time on my dirty, slightly salt stained car. The temperature outside was right around 40 degrees. It is very easy to apply and after removing the product and then lightly buffing with another microfiber towel my car looked like it had just been waxed. I'm amazed at how well this product works. I will always have it on hand to use and am sure I will be using it a lot. Very convenient way to clean a car and get a great result.
Pros
By Michael
WESTMINSTER, CA
Great all-around versatile product
January 16, 2020
I've been using ONR for several months now on a weekly basis to wash my truck and I am thoroughly impressed with it. It makes easy work of washing. It can be used for many different things depending on how you dilute it. I've also used it for glass, interior, clay lube, and a quick detailer.
ProsCuts washing time down Can be diluted differently for different purposes Smells great
By Justin
WARREN, PA
Favorite product by far
May 1, 2019
I use ONR for just about everything. Works great for clay lube, detail spray, additive for a steamer, and the all important winter washes. I had a truck that had several big dry mud chunks over the sides. I sprayed it down with ONR and majority of the mud came off before I could rinse it.
ProsEasy to use No scratching Use for anything Reduces cleaning time
ConsYou?ll go through a lot as you use it for everything
By Leif
Kailua, HI
Best Rinseless Wash
April 6, 2019
Most versatile product out there. Great for washing, claying and interior cleaning. Great value!
ProsGreat smell. Great price, value and dilution ratio
By David
Glen Ellyn, IL
Game changer!
March 18, 2019
This product is a game changer! What can be said that hasn’t been said? It’s so good it’s hard to believe, I honestly have washed cars that you’d think would be too dirty for a rinseless wash and yet ONR knocked it outta the park! Pair with Opti-seal or the Instant Detailer for an extra pop of shine and protection!
ProsAllows you to wash your car in freezing temps!
ConsNone!
By Richard
, Toms River, NJ
First Opinion
December 4, 2018
I have heard about ONR for a long time now. From what i have read and seen it is revered as possibly the best rinseless wash. I was not dissapointed with this product. It is incredibly easy to use and it takes such a small amount of product to complete the job. My car looked great after, just as good as a normal wash in my opinion.
ProsEase of use A little product goes a long way Car looks great after, for lightly dirty car just as good as a normal wash Cheap Readily available Nice smell
By Ellis
Bowie, MD
Flexible Product
September 5, 2018
I used this on a car that stays outside (no garage) needs wax but otherwise very well kept. It's dark blue. The no rinse wash worked well but not as good as a traditional car wash. So I wound up using it when I want to quickly clean up the car but don't have time for a full on wash. It may perform better after I wax the vehicle. As a quick detailer it's outstanding. So inexpensive, great on windows too. This will be my quick detailer solution going forward. I used the same solution to remove dried coffee in the cup holders. Again, it worked great. Spritzed it on the dried mung, let it sit a minute, agitated with a soft brush and wiped it up. Left the cup holders looking wonderful. So I also tried it on the rest of the hard plastics in the interior (including the dash) and again it performed great. Haven't tried it as clay bar lube yet.
ProsFlexible product useful as both an interior and exterior quick detailer. Cost effective Gives a good impression of a traditional car was on an unwaxed vehicle When it gets cold outside this will be a great way to keep the car looking good
ConsOn an unwaxed vehicle, the car wash isn't as good as a traditional wash.
By kazper
Baltimore, MD
Fell short of expectations
August 9, 2018
I was probably expecting too much based on all the online raving. Does it work? Yes. Is it the best thing since sliced bread? No. I was expect a much slicker surface that I was given. I poured a very generous amount of product in my water bucket and proceeded to wash my car as many videos and forum guides instructed. It worked, but didn't seem to have the glide that I would have preferred. It wasn't pulling at my towel by any means, but it certainly wasn't gliding over the surface either. I used it on a tractor with much worse paint with more favorable results. Maybe the dilution ratio needs to be increased to provide better performance.
By Daniel
Oswego, IL
My single most favorite detailing product!
July 18, 2018
This should be in everyone's detailing arsenal. At a low price point, you get enough dilutable product to makes gallons of what you need. I use Optimum No-Rinse as a waterless wash, as a glass cleaner, as a detailing spray, and as a spot-free drying aid. I even add an ounce to my wash bucket with any soap to help soften the water. This is probably the most versatile detailing product I use.
ProsLow price, makes gallons of product, many uses, smells great
By Brian
San Antonio , Texas
Good additive for less spotting
May 11, 2018
I add a few caps full to my wash bucket and foam gun to help with water spotting with nice results. I've also tried it out a detailer and rinse-less wash with some good results however it could be better. Although for the price I can't complain too much
ProsEasy dilution ratios Helps with water spots Smell Price
ConsNot a sudsy product Not exactly perfect for its intended use
By DAS
North Tustin, Ca
Excellent product
December 26, 2017
I almost never wash my vehicle with soap any more. ONR is incredibly affordable, and I like the finish it leaves on the paint.
ProsGloss and shine. Ease of use.
By RICH
PALO ALTO, CA
Awesome stuff!!
July 29, 2017
ONR is great stuff since it can be used as a detail spray, quick rinse, and clay lubricator. Since I'm picky about swirl marks, scratches, etc. I use the Gary Dean method with ONR.
ProsFlexibility with product
ConsNone
By JDC
Scottsville, NY
I agree with everyone else, it's great!
June 23, 2017
I wasn't a believer but I tried it and can confirm this stuff is great! It's my go to on cold winter days or if a light cleaning is needed. I haven't seen any swirl marks after using it for the last year but you got to use with caution and follow the direction like anything else. For heavy soiled cars still would use a traditional two bucket wash with shampoo if I could.... not that you could give it a go with ONR.
ProsCost per gallon, slickness of solution, lots of videos from OPT and others on its use, low water consumption, can use in cold weather with hot water :)
By BSoares
EXTON, PA
Works well
May 15, 2017
This product is intended for a no rinse wash. But I've been using it as an aid to soften the water and avoid spots while I'm drying the car. A cap full is enough for a wash bucked. I will also use it as clay lube. Come winter, I'll give it a try as no rinse wash. I already got the big red sponge to go with it.
By David
loveland, CO
ONR works
March 30, 2017
Only complaint or downfall... it won't work it's way into cracks and crevices. Just means slightly more work then washing with pressurized water. Other then that, it leaves behind a very nice shine. I like to do the two bucket system with this. Your rinse water just becomes your wash water later on.
By Mark
Pflugerville, TX
Optimum No Rinse
October 22, 2016
Love this stuff, live in an apartment with no access to hose so this is my go to wash product. I wish it smelled like ONRWW.
ProsMultiple uses
By DroughtConsciousDude
Bay Area, CA
This is the only way to wash cars in drought conditions
October 19, 2016
This is an amazing product. It works as well as the "rinse, lather, repeat" methods but using a fraction of the water. The detergent is very effective at removing all oil and dirt and it leaves the car shiny like it was just waxed. Really dirty vehicles may need several buckets to get the job done, but this is still the best use of potable water for car washing that I can imagine. Washing a car during a drought is purely an elective choice. This product makes it reasonable - I use my shower warm-up water so there's absolutely no waste. Best of all, the dirty water goes down the toilet and into the sewer system for proper treatment, not down the storm drain as it would if we washed using the hose. Much better for the environment. Do the water responsible thing and use this product.
ProsSimple and effective. It works.
ConsYou'll need to learn how to use this product to get best results. Lot's of clean microfiber clothes are needed, as is a step-by-step approach to washing your car. You'll have to learn to wash it in several "quadrants" instead of all at once - wash and then dry each section before moving on. Don't worry, it doesn't take any longer in total, but you will have to learn how to do it to get good results.
By Jesus
Anaheim, California
So Good I Bought 2 more
October 18, 2016
I ran out of my first 32 oz bottle. I bought another somewhere along the line. And then recently, I noticed they were on sale here on Autopia and bought TWO more! It's that good. KISS. Keep It Simple Simon. This stuff works. No need for anything fancy It cleans It's a budget friendly clay lube. Quick detailer. Mostly, though, it's my go-to rinseless.
ProsOne of the best values Cleans nicely as a rinseless VERY affordable clay lube
ConsCan't think of any.
By Joe
IL
Pleasant Suprise
July 13, 2016
I was a little reluctant to try this product at first, I'm pretty anal about my car, but this stuff worked great! No mess in the garage, great finish when done. Definitely will buy again. Product paid for itself in the first wash!
ProsNo mess, uses just a little water
ConsProbably wouldn't work on an overly dirty vehicle. You'd want to rinse it off first.
By Yulius
Edmonds, WA
My to-go rinse-less wash
June 18, 2016
My best friend in cold weathers.
By Dave
Florida
I never would have believed
June 8, 2016
Excellent product. Does great job with just a bucket,a rag,and a towel. No hose needed. I'll never wash the old way again.
By Noah1
El Paso, TX
Classic product in every arsenal
May 19, 2016
Have been using this product for a good 6 years now. Covers every single base almost for detailing products. Wash, clay lube, and quick detailer all in one product.
ProsCheap, effective, multi-use
By Toru
Tennessee
Great rinseless
April 21, 2016
Safe car wash method to use in your garage anytime. Hot days (think waterspotting), cold days, nighttime etc. Since this has no wax, I can wash, decontaminate, wash again, compound, polish, and LSP without moving the car. Great time saver.
ProsSafe rinseless when used with correct method.
ConsDoes not release gunk from wash media. (I use multiple 350gsm+ microfiber towels that make this a non issue)
By Jean
CA
Game changer
April 10, 2016
This product exceeded all my expectations. I have a new car (black) and wanted to keep the factory wax job as long as possible plus conserve water. One ounce of wash in two gallons of water....you have to see it to believe it but this product only bubbles a little and the suds(?) or bubbles disappear by the time you get the bucket from the sink to the driveway. Use a microfiber mitt and apply liquid to car....watch all bug splats and bird doo go bye-bye almost instantly. Regular dirt just slides off and then you can begin to towel the liquid off. I also used a silicone squeegy to get the largest amount of liquid off before toweling...especially the windows. The wash liquid will not leave any circles, spots or water haze and my car looked showroom perfect when dry. I am so sold on this product that I have recommended it to about 6 people so far. It's a good value too. $14.99 for 32 oz and only an ounce is needed per wash = 32 car washes from one bottle. Great value.
ProsPerfection in a bottle
Consnone
By Jack
Lexington KY
GET IT !
February 28, 2016
Best car care product you can buy So buy it
ProsGreat product
ConsNone
By Maria
San Jose, CA
Versatile product
November 29, 2015
I have been using this product for 5 years now. I'm getting back into the detail world and this product hasn't changed or failed me. This can be used as a quick detailer, lube for claying your car or a rinse less wash. If your state or county is in a drought this product is ideal for keeping your car looking perfect.
By Jack
Wyoming, Michigan
Works as advertised
October 17, 2015
I've used Optimum No Rinse mixed in a bucket with a brush and in a spray bottle using microfiber cloths. Both worked to my satisfaction. Did not use on vehicle that was excessively dirty however. Nice product for cleaning up your vehicle or travel trailer when you don't have water available.
Prosworks without water, leaves finished surface shiny
By ETP
Phoenix AZ
Excellent Product
September 3, 2015
I live in the Phoenix area where it is HOT and dusty. I love the option of washing the car in the garage. Recently got stuck in a monsoon and dust storm. My black BMW was covered in dust and then rained on. Car was filthy. Mixed up some OPTIMUM NO RINSE and 20 minutes later car was clean with a brilliant shine!
ProsEasy to use, does not scratch the finish, small amount needed to wash multiple vehicles.
Consnone
By GLT
Los Angeles:
So far, so good
August 10, 2015
In water conserved Los Angeles, this Optimum product has worked well the first few times I've used it. I don't allow my cars to get too dirty, so using this once a week has worked 'as advertised'.
ProsSaves a lot of water. Easy to use.
By Ed
egking756@aol.com
Great for a fast wash
May 14, 2015
Great product for that quick wash during the winter and can't get to the hose. Or during water restrictions
ProsGreat for cold days and water restrictions
ConsNone
By Dustin
Ofallon, MO
A great product that all detailers should have!
February 6, 2015
I've used this diluted in a 5 gallon bucket to wash my car and I've used it as a clay lube. I keep a bottle of it in my trunk as well to remove anything on the paint that could cause etching. This is one of my favorite products by far.
ProsEasy to use, variety of uses
By Allen
Campbell, CA
Light duster wash
January 31, 2015
I use these every week between washes. Works great, dries easily, unlike water.
ProsEasy to use Easy to wash
ConsDon't use for heavy contamination
By Bruce
Tennessee
Cheap at twice the price!
January 6, 2015
Would not have believed how it worked if I had not done it myself. Beautiful car wash, in my garage, without a hose. No pre-wash, I did not even knock off the mud. I have no idea how it works...it just does! This product was referred to me by a guy who makes a living detailing exotic cars. Its all he uses.
ProsIt is what you said, and more.
By Matt
San Bernardino, CA
Great Product
December 1, 2014
I have been using ONR for the past few months as my main rinseless wash. The smell is great, cleans well, the towel glides very easily over the paint and the high dilution ration makes a little ONR go a very long way. Highly recommend.
ProsPrice Lubricity Cleaning Power Smell
By Macky
San Bruno, CA
Great for Clay Lube
November 18, 2014
Cheap alternative to be used for Clay Lube. I use this to clean my cars with a pressurized spray bottle. California duster and this would make a great combination. Could use a little more slickness on the finished product though.
ProsCheap Good shine Smell
ConsNot too slick
By Shane
Canton, MI
Must have for anyone who really cares about their car
September 6, 2014
What needs to be said? Multiple dilution ratios for multiple uses. Amazing value. I use this primarily for clay lube and it goes a very very long way. I keep a gallon mixed up all the time and just refill my spray bottle as needed. Have yet to try it as a rinseless though
By EVOlved
NYC
Must have product!
September 6, 2014
ONR is one of the most versatile products you can buy it makes a good if not great clay lube, rinseless wash, quick detailer, and you can even use it for interior wipedowns. In all applications it is very slick so your worries about marring are instantly gone. It smells good. What else is there to say really BUY IT!!
ProsMulti purpose Smells good Great dilution rates
Cons?
By Aaron
Arlington, TX
The bomb!
July 29, 2014
This is a great product with multiple uses depending on dilution ratio. I use it primarily as a presoak and Nanoskin speedy towel lube. It emulsifies dirt while working well with Optimum No Rinse Wash & Wax. Highly recommended!
ProsMultiple use product, cleans great, saves water
ConsNot a thing!
By Lynn K.
Texas
Very nice finish and easy to apply.
November 17, 2012
I used this for the first time on our new Camry and am very satisfied with the results. In the future, I think it would be a little easier to take it to a car wash and get the excess, using minimal time, then take it home and do the finishing touch. The car was pretty dirty and it still did a wonderful job. I am sold!!
ProsEasy to use. Nice finish. No wasted water.
By 39cars
Las Vegas
Cleans and shines!
September 5, 2012
Easy to use. Followed the instructions and washed 3 cars in about 2 hours. One was slightly dusty, one was dirty from driving through a rain storm, and one was dirty from normal driving. Optimum No Rinse Wash & Shine got everything off of each car with no pressure on the microcloth except for some bug residue. That required going over a couple of times. The cars were easy to dry since you have far less water on then normal and the result was a very noticeable shine. Highly recommend.
By megan
ossining,ny
My car is shining
July 7, 2012
I absolutely love this product. I was a little worried at first but once I tried it, I fell in love. I do wipe the car down with a duster prior to washing, but it once washed it easily dries and makes in between washings super easy. I don't know how it works but it just does.
ProsFast, inexpensive, easy, works
By joedaddy
Andover, MA
Great alternative to a hose...
April 26, 2012
I've used ONR before (the previous formula). This 2012 "new formula" seem to be better compared to the old formula. I remember the older formula being a little more "milky" when mixed and more slick. The results of the finishes are similar to the naked eye. Shiny and clean... but the beading results after a rain next day.. WOW.. it looks like I put on a nice coat of wax the day before. I was very impressed.. I use the two bucket method with a grit guard in the ONR bucket. Usually use luke warm water in both buckets (lifesaver during the cold months)... personally, I like to wash after a rain so the thicker, "solid" dirt is washed off. If not, I just goto the local self-service car wash just to spray $2 worth of water to rinse the car, wheel wells, and rims. Using a Meguiars microfiber sponge and a large waffle weave towel, I can wash an average car in 30 minutes. Two capfuls = an ounce (approximately i think it's about 1.1 ounce to be exact) 1 star off for high price.
ProsQuick Great result Versatility Beading action after the rain Great Shine
ConsValue

Page 1 of 2
1


Top